A Prayer of Desire

MY GOD, you are my life; if I leave you, I cannot but thirst.  Lost spirits thirst in hell, because they have not God.  I wish to be clad in that new nature, which so longs for you from loving you, as to overcome in me the fear of coming to you.  I come to you, Lord, not only because I am unhappy without you, not only because I feel I need you, but because my grace draws me on to seek you.  I come in great fear, but in greater love.  As years pass away, and the heart shuts up, and all things are a burden, let me never lose this youthful, eager love of you.  The more I refuse to open my heart to you, so much the fuller and stronger be your supernatural visitings, and the more urgent and efficacious your presence within me. ~ Newman

MY GOD, my beloved; you are my life, my death and my resurrection.  I will never leave you.  I never thirst because you replenish me, and quench my every drought like the silken morning dew.  Lost spirits thirst because they know not of your Love.  I am clad in that absolute innate nature which so knows you, in my loving you. There is no fear to overcome, as you are with me.  I come to you because I am happy with you Lord, not only because I want you, but because my grace draws me on to be One with you.  I come in no fear, but in greatest yearning and love.  As the years pass away and the heart opens deeper still, and as all things become less of a burden, let me ever love you and yours deeper and deeper still, and increase my passionate desire and love for you.  The more I open my heart to you, so much the fuller and stronger be your supernatural visitings, and the more urgent and efficacious your Love burns within me.  ~ mags

85368_m-1

About mags

Beloved apostle of His Soul x
This entry was posted in female discipleship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

