Jadey

IMG_3014

On the 30th December Jadey went to her eternal rest.

God Bless her darling nature and may St Francis keep her, in the life eternal.  It was the most drawn out, hardest letting go of a beloved pet that I have ever known.

I read something just yesterday that moved me to that astute place of recognition because I know it to be true ~ by a very intuitive little 6-year-old boy.

A veterinarian,  had been called to examine a ten-year-old Irish wolfhound named Belker. The dog’s owners, Ron, his wife, Lisa, and their little boy, Shane, were all very attached to Belker, and they were hoping for a miracle.

He examined Belker and found he was dying of cancer. He told the family he couldn’t do anything for Belker, and offered to perform the euthanasia procedure for the old dog in their home.

As they made arrangements, Ron and Lisa told the vet they thought it would be good for six-year-old Shane to observe the procedure. They felt as though Shane might learn something from the experience.

The next day, the vet felt the familiar catch in his throat as Belker’s family surrounded him.  The 6 year old boy seemed so calm, petting the old dog for the last time, that the vet wondered if he understood what was going on. Within a few minutes, Belker slipped peacefully away.

The little boy seemed to accept Belker’s transition without any difficulty or confusion. They all sat together for a while after Belker’s death, wondering aloud about the sad fact that animal lives are shorter than human lives.

Shane, who had been listening quietly, piped up, “I know why.”

Startled, they all turned to him. What came out of his mouth next stunned the vet.  He had never heard a more comforting explanation.  Shane said, “People are born so that they can learn how to live a good life – like loving everybody all the time and being nice, right?”

The six-year-old continued, “Well, dogs already know how to do that, so they don’t have to stay as long.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~

It’s the Truth.

I rescued a very frightened Jadey for £25.00 from the rescue centre in 1998.  She imprinted on me.  I never went originally to see her, I went for another dog called Merlin (advertised in their weekly re-homing ad in the local rag),  but I left the kennel without that dog.  The next day however I phoned the kennel back up, and said ‘I keep thinking about the puppy, in the pen at the end, have you still got her?’   She had looked deeper than deep into my eyes the day before, and held my soul with that gaze which is so rare.

This look which is an exchange between souls; an imprinting, has only ever happened before with all of my children, just after their birth ~ when they first stared into my eyes with a concentrated and unbroken gaze.  And this very same look has only ever happened with one other person in my lifetime.    My beloved.

~~~~~~~~~~

Back in 1998, almost 16 years ago, upon collection Jadey jumped into the back of my car at 16 weeks of age, a little pup with huge feet and gangling legs. She laid down as silent as nothingness until we got home, desperate to leave the frightening kennel where there was constant barking and unrest in the soiled dog pens.

She has lived almost 16 years with me, side by side.  The longest creature to accompany me besides my 16-year-old first-born.  Jadey has seen me bring 5 babies into the world, and she has comforted me, as she watched me nurse and nurture some of them back from intensive care.  She has seen me through the turbulent times of unhappiness, separation and divorce, to renovating a new home as a single mother.   She comforted me when I was in the absolute lowest of the low of grief, when I lost my father.  She has watched me struggle with the desperate frustrations that I have lived through to date.

She has kept night watch whilst I’ve done hospital runs, and kept day watch continually. She has guarded my family and my home with her loyalty and Love, and accompanied me on my solitary long long walks.  She has seen the very best of me and the very worst of me, just sat quietly observing it all.  And on the days when it all got too much and the tears drenched my spirit, and flooded my body, she came and gently lifted her head into my hands and stared into my soul, and held me to another/deeper Truth ~ which she appeared to know in all her intuitive wisdom, through a glass less darkly.

Just looked deep into me . . .  revealing Gods presence.

A presence of Spirit and Love.

And all the while she never said a word.

Oh how at times I could live my life in the same silence as these higher beings. Not shut away, but right along side life ~ freely.   How dare anyone suggest they haven’t got a soul. How I sometimes dream of us All going through life just being Love with no words, with no voice ~ mute, like the main female character played by the actress Holly Hunter in the 1993 film The Piano.  If man could only begin to live with the same profound Love, joy, loyalty, Sense, grace, and humility as mans best friend, then it’s my contemplation that this world would be a little more like Heaven upon earth.

Dear Lord,

I thank You for the mystery of imprinting.  For the Love magnificent holding soul to soul in Love, in all Your Majesty.  I thank You for the lessons that You have allowed creatures better than ourselves to teach us.  And I trust that You continue to reach me through Loves imprint.  I Love You, and them special souls ~ with All of me.

mags †

About mags

Beloved apostle of His Soul x
This entry was posted in female discipleship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

